International Jazz Day

 

I’m not particularly into music and on the odd occasion when I do listen to music, I don’t often turn to jazz.  And so I don’t really know much about it. I was feeling very unenthusiastic about this. Why should jazz have an international day? It’s just music…

But apparently not.  The day was established by UNESCO because jazz is more than music.  They explained that it brings people together, it fosters an ethos of respect. The nature of jazz is such that one person listens respectfully and then responds. Within improvisational jazz, there is a forum for non violent discourse around difference. It pulls together many cultures and blends them; an approach which obviously would make life better for everyone should we employ it in our daily life.

And any jazz fans reading this, please give me some suggestions for listening!


Leave a comment