December Reflections: Biggest lesson from 2016

My biggest lesson from 2016 is one I am still processing really.  It’s that life does not always take the route you expect.

I retired on ill health this year which was by far the best thing for me.  However, this has inevitably left me a bit directionless.  You go from having your life vaguely mapped out – work until you’re in your 60s or whatever the retirement age is by then – to having no idea what the future looks like.  My condition is unlikely to affect my life expectancy so I still have a good few years ahead of me.  But I have no idea what they will contain.  The path is twisting and turning and at the moment, I can’t see where it is leading.  But, that is ok.

path

Leave a Reply

