1/4 of a year in

Oops, sorry for the radio silence there! Blame the post house move exhaustion! On that note, the house is looking fab, pictures are up, spare room is habitable and I’ve found most of my belongings again. And am never ever doing that again!

So we’re a quarter of the way through 2016 (I know, ridiculous right?!) which seems like an excellent time to check in and see how projects, goals, resolutions etc are going.

I set out a few creative projects that I’d like to work on alongside my journaling :

  • Trees: A year long study.  Having started well and collected lots of ideas, this stalled for a while until the last couple of weeks.  I’ve decided I want to pull my research and techniques into four pieces.  The first of these is going to be a canvas which focusses on May Day or Beltain and the related traditions, colours, pollination, leaves etc.  To help narrow down ideas and images, I have created a book made from paper leaves.
  • image

    image

    image

    image

  • Blue journal. Not started on this yet.
  • Nature.  Unfortunately I’ve been housebound this year so I’m hoping this will come to life once I can get out.  That said, I’ve been including nature in my tree project obviously and have tried out some eco dying techniques with the limited plants I can access.
  • Writing.  I’ve written an article about friends and chronic pain which will hopefully be included in the HMSA newsletter.  That and my blogs is about it so far.  Although I did have an idea for a poem the other day which was great.  My pain has been bad which makes it hard to type which makes it hard to write.  Also, my head was stuffed full of moving thoughts for about a month, leaving little space for anything else.
  • Wanderlust – see upcoming post for more info but this is going really well, although I want to do all the projects which is hard given the pain and exhaustion but they’re getting added to my creative ideas list.

I’ve started a “creative ideas list” of things I want to explore or projects I want to get stuck into because I realised I was jumping all over the place trying to do all the ideas and not doing any of them which was unsatisfying and a bit stressful.

.

Leave a Reply

